School Health Advisory

School Health Advisory Council

Wellness Policies

Wellness Policy (FFA – Legal)
Wellness Policy (FFA – Local)

School Board Policy on SHAC

Texas State Law requires that the board of trustees of each school district establish a local School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) Sec. 28.004 SHAC. The purpose of the committee is to ensure that community values are reflected in the health education curriculum and other school health issues. Senate Bill 1357 expanded the duties of the council to include recommending strategies for integrating school health services, counseling and guidance services, a safe school environment, and school employee wellness into the school’s health curriculum.
The SHAC can:

  • Be instrumental in improving student health
  • Help the district meet community involvement mandates and community expectations
  • Provide a way for community members to work together with school personnel to accomplish school district goals
  • Utilize and make the most of community resources and assets
  • Provide a forum for sharing youth health information and resources

The Canyon Independent School District’s School Health Advisory Council is comprised of parents of students enrolled in the district, community members, and district employees. The council meets a minimum of four times each year. To obtain more information about the council, contact the council chairperson, Christine Hall.

CISD SHAC Synopsis

Every independent school district is required to have a School Health Advisory Council and School Nutrition Advisory Committee. A school district receiving Title IV funds is required to have a Safe and Drug Free Schools Council. CISD has formed a council of parents, community members, and educators with overlapping interests in all of these subjects to form one council that meets four times per year.


 School Health Advisory Council & School Nutrition Advisory Council

Committee Members Include

  • Chris Hall, staff
  • Jodi Davis, parent
  • Vlada Buck, parent
  • Misty Sutton, parent
  • Kylie Griffitt, RN, staff  
  • Lesley Harris, RN, staff
  • Halley Holloway, parent
  • McGuire Guest, RHS student
  • Kealy Juarez, RHS student
  • Marlee Ramirez, CHS student
  • Bronson Kwaku, CHS student
  • Joey Meason, parent
  • Cami Meason, parent
  • Dakota Milloway, LMSW, staff
  • Jason Norman, staff
  • Casey Cooper, parent
  • Heather Broadhurst, staff
  • Haleigh Burns, staff
  • Megan West, parent
  • Blake Moore, parent
  • Jill Walker, parent
  • Kristian Bostick, parent
  • Tiffany Rogers, parent
  • Jennifer Christie, parent